Wizkid, Tems, Patoranking win big at Headies 2022 (See full list of winners)

Headies 2022
Headies 2022

Nigerian artistes, Wizkid, Patoranking, and Ayra Starr were among the biggest winners at the 2022 edition of The Headies.

The ‘Essence’ crooner, who was represented by Sunday Are, his manager, clinched several categories for ‘Made in Lagos’, his 2020 album, and ‘Essence’, his hit song with Tems.

Some of the categories won by Wizkid include ‘Song of the Year’, ‘Best Collaboration’, and ‘Album of the Year’.

Patoranking also clinched the ‘Best Recording Of The Year’ as well as ‘Best Reggae & Dancehall Album’ categories.

Ayra Starr won the ‘Headies’ Viewer’s Choice’ category ahead of several heavyweights including Wizkid and Olamide while BNXN snagged the much-coveted ‘Next Rated’ gong.

The 15th edition of the award, titled ‘Join the Movement’, was held in the early hours of Monday at the Cobbs Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, United States.

It was hosted by Anthony Anderson and Osas Ighodaro.

This will be the first time the award ceremony would be held outside Nigeria since its inception in 2006.

Below are the winners:

Rookie Of The Year

Fave (Winner)

Best Recording Of The Year

Celebrate Me – Patoranking (Winner)
Essence – Wizkid Ft Tems
Jpy – Falana
Loving Is Harder – Johnny Drille
Meji Meji – Brymo
Somebody’s Son – Tiwa Savage Ft Brandy

Producer Of The Year

Beats By Jayy – “Golden” (A-Q)
Blaise Beatz – “Sinner” (Adekunle Gold Feat. Lucky Daye)
Niphkeys – “Feel Good” (Mohbad)
P Priime – “Ozumba Mbadiwe” (Reekado Banks)
Pheelz – “High” (Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido)
Sarz — ‘Monalisa’ (Lojay & Sarz) — (Winner)

Best R&B single

“Baby Riddim” – Fave
“Beggie Beggie” – Ayra Starr Feat. Ckay
“Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems (Winner)
“Running (To You)” – Chike Feat. Simi
“Promise” – Niniola
“Sinner” – Adekunle Gold Feat. Luck Daye

Songwriter Of The Year

Adekunle Gold – “Sinner” — (Winner)
Ajebo Hustlers – “Loyalty”
Brymo – “Meji Meji”
Falana – “Joy”
Fireboy Dml – “Peru”
Omah Lay – “Understand”

Best Alternative Song

“Doings” – Flavour (Winner)
“Free Your Mind” – Made Kuti
“Gonto” – Ibejii
“Hustle” – Basketmouth, The Cavemen, Bez, Dice Ailes
“Meji Meji” – Brymo
“Selense” – The Cavemen

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Ayra Starr – “Toxic”
Liya – “Alari”
Niniola – “6th Heaven”
Simi – “Running (To You)”
Tems – “Essence”
Waje – “Last Time” (Winner)

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Brymo – “Meji Meji”

Johnny Drille – “Loving Is Harder”

Oxlade – “Ojuju” (Winner)

Ric Hassani – “When I’m Gone”

Tay Iwar – “Peaking”

Best Music Video

“Champion” – (Fireboy Dml Feat. D Smoke) Directed By Tg Omori — (Winner)

“Ginger” – (Wizkid Feat. Burna Boy) Directed By Meji Alabi

“Roju” – (Chike) Directed By Pink

“Rain” – (Yemi Alade Feat. Mzansi Youth Choir) Directed By Ovie Etseyatse

“Bling” – (Blaqbonez Feat. Amaarae & Bnxn) Directed By Tg Omori

“Running” – (Ladipoe Feat. Fireboy Dml) Directed By Director K

Best Collaboration

“Beggie Beggie” – Ayra Starr Feat. Ckay
“Bling” – Blaqbonez Feat. Amaarae & Bnxn
“Early Momo” – Vector Feat. Goodgirl LA
“Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems — (Winner)
“Feeling” – Ladipoe Feat. Bnxn
“Running (To You)” – Chike Feat. Simi

Best Street-Hop Artiste

Bella Shmurda – “Cash App” Feat. Zlatan & Lincoln
Rexxie & Mohbad – “Kpk”
Mohbad – “Feel Good”
Naira Marley – “Koleyewon”
Nektunez & Goya Menor – “Ameno Amapiano (Remix)” (Winner)
Poco Lee, Portable & Olamide – “Zazoo Zehh”

Best Afrobeats Single Of The Year

“Bloody Samaritan” – Ayra Starr
“Bounce” – Ruger
“High” – Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido
“Monalisa” – Lojay & Sarz
“Ozumba Mbadiwe” – Reekado Banks
“Peru” – Fireboy DML — (Winner)

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice

Ayra Starr – “Bloody Samaritan” — Winner
Fireboy – “Peru”
Joeboy – “Sip”
Lojay & Sarz – “Monalisa”
Nektunez & Goya Menor – “Ameno Amapiano (Remix)”
Olamide Feat. Omah Lay – “Infinity”
Rema – “Soundgasm”
Wizkid Feat. Tems – “Essence”

Best West African Artiste Of The Year

Amaarae (Ghana)
Angelique Kidjo (Benin)
Aya Nakamura (Mali)
Gyakie (Ghana) (Winner)
Kidi (Ghana)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)

Best East African Artiste Of The Year

Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania) (Winner)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Harmonize (Tanzania)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Nikita Kering (Kenya)
Zuchu (Tanzania)

Best North African Artiste Of The Year

Emel Mathlouthi (Tunisia)
Elgrandetoto (Morocco)
Latifa (Tunisia) (Winner)
Manal (Morocco)
Muhamad Ramadan (Egypt)
Soolking (Algeria)

Best Southern African Artiste Of The Year

Black Coffee (South Africa)
Dj Tarico (Mozambique)
Elaine (South Africa)
Focalistic (South Africa) (Winner)
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)

Best Afrobeats Album

“19 And Dangerous” – Ayra Starr
“A Better Time” – Davido
“Barnabas” – Kizz Daniel
“Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition)” – Wizkid (Winner)
“Kpos Lifestyle” – Ajebo Hustlers
“Wondaland” – Teni

Best Reggae & Dancehall Album

“Gratitude” – Timaya
“Love Is War” – Prettyboy D-O
“Rainbow Riddim” – Shank
“Three” – Patoranking — (Winner)
“Yaadman Kingsize” – Yung L

Best R&B Album

“Before We Fall Asleep” – Johnny Drille
“If Orange Was A Place” – Tems (Winner)
“Love Deep High Life” – Omawumi
“Rising” – Falana
“The Prince I Became” – Ric Hassani
“Water And Garri” – Tiwa Savage

Best Alternative Album

“9: Esan” – Brymo
“Intermission” – Ibejii — (Winner)
“Legacy +” – Femi Kuti & Made Kuti
“Love And Highlife” – The Cavemen
“P.S. Thank You For Waiting” – Wavy The Creator
“Yabasi” – Basketmouth

Best Rap Album

“Carpe Diem” – Olamide (Winner)
“Clone Wars Vol. 5 – The Algorhythm” – Show Dem Camp
“Golden” – A-Q
“Mafia Culture, Vol. 2.0” – Idowest
“Providence” – Ladipoe
“Sex Over Love” – Blaqbonez

Album Of The Year

“9: Esan” – Brymo
“19 & Dangerous” – Ayra Starr
“Carpe Diem” – Olamide
“Legacy +” – Femi Kuti & Made Kuti
“Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition)” – Wizkid — (Winner)
“Yabasi” – Basketmouth

Song Of The Year

“Celebrate Me” – Patoranking
“Doings” – Flavour Feat. Phyno
“Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems — (Winner)
“High” – Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido
“Monalisa” – Lojay & Sarz
“Peru” – Fireboy Dml

Best Female Artiste

Tems (Winner)
Tiwa Savage

Best Male Artiste

Adekunle Gold
Burna Boy (Winner)

Next Rated

Ayra Starr
BNXN — (Winner)

African Artiste Of The Year

Black Coffee (Nigeria)
Burna Boy (Nigeria) (Winner)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)
Soolking (Algeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Aya Nakamura (Mali )

Lyricist On The Roll

A-Q – “The Last Cypher” — (Winner)
Blaqbonez – “The Last Cypher”
Jesse Jagz – “Vipers”
Ladipoe – “Providence”
Payper Corleone – “In Don We Trust”
Vector – “Crown Of Clay”

Humanitarian Award Of The Year

2face Idibia
Davido (Winner)
Don Jazzy

Best Central African Artiste Of The Year

Calema (Sao Tome & Principe)
Blanche Bailly (Cameroon)
Dadju (Dr Congo)
Fally Ipupa (Dr Congo)
Innoss’b (Dr Congo) (Winner)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Rap Single

“Breathe” – A-Q Feat Chike
“Crown Of Clay” – Vector & Mi Abaga Feat. Pheelz
“Early Momo” – Vector Feat. Goodgirl LA
“Feeling” – Ladipoe Feat. BNXN (Winner)
“Tycoon” – Show Dem Camp – Feat. Reminisce & Mojo
“Loading” – Olamide Feat Bad Boy Timz

Best Inspirational Single

‘Cultural Praise’ — Kcee Feat. Okwesili Eze Group — Winner

See full winners here.