OFFICIAL: Tinubu wins APC Presidential primary by landslide


National leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has emerged the presidential candidate of the party, winning the presidential primary by a landslide.

Tinubu polled 1,271 votes to defeat former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and by a landslide.

Amaechi polled 316 votes to come second while Osinbajo got 235 votes to come third.

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan scored 152 votes to come fourth in the presidential primary.

Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Tunde Bakare got zero vote; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba got one vote; David Umahi polled 38 votes; Ogbonnaya Onu got one vote; Yahaya Bello polled 47 votes, and Ben Ayade got 37 votes.

The primary was held on Tuesday and Wednesday by the APC to choose its presidential flagbearer.

Fourteen aspirants participated in the race including Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Gov. Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Sen. Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi, Gov. Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.

Indications that the odds would favoure Tinubu began to manifest after some of the aspirants started to stand down their aspiration and declare support for him and urged their delegates to vote for him at the convention.

Those, who stepped down for Tinubu were former Minister for Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godswill Akpabio; former governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Governor of Jigawa State, Abubakar Badaru; former Speaker of House of Representatives, Hon. Dimeji Bankole; Senator Ajayi Boroffice and the only female aspirant, Uju Ohanenye.

Tinubu, who was the first to address the special convention, boasted as having the capacity to articulate a vision of progress for the country if elected candidate of the party and ultimately, president of the country.

Tinubu will be slugging it out with former vice president Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Peter Obi of Labour Party, and other candidates in the 2023 presidential election.