Messi hat trick thrill Barcelona to Laliga title


Barcelona have won La Liga in manager Ernesto Valverde’s first season in charge after a Lionel Messi-inspired victory over Deportivo La Coruna.

It was not an easy win at the Riazor for the newly crowned champions, although they took a two-goal lead with Philippe Coutinho (7) and Messi (38) netting before Lucas Perez (40) deservedly pulled a goal back for Depor in the first half.
The hosts got themselves level through Emre Colak (64) before Messi netted a quick-fire double late on (82 and 85) to round off his hat-trick and ensure that the La Liga trophy returns to the Nou Camp
is the 25th time Barcelona have won La Liga – eight behind the 33 won by rivals Real Madrid.
It took seven minutes for the visitors to take the lead. Ousmane Dembele’s initial cross was well blocked by Luisinho, but he pulled the rebounded ball back to the top of the area for Coutinho to curl a beautiful strike into the back of the net.
Messi might be sad to see them go having scored 13 goals at the Riazor, his favourite ground alongside Real Madrid’s Bernaebu.
Next Sunday will welcome Real Madrid in a visit to Nou Camp for another El Clasico.