Jimi Agbaje wins Lagos PDP governorship primary


Jimi Agbaje has emerged as the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary election in Lagos state.

Agbaje was declared the winner after polling 1, 100 votes to defeat his closest contender, Deji Doherty who garnered 742 votes.

Declaring Agbaje victorious, the returning officer, Oyofo said, “By the power conferred on me by the PDP constitution, I now declare Agbaje PDP candidate for the 2019 governorship election in Lagos state.

“Come 2019, the PDP will win the Lagos governorship election.”

Accepting the result, Doherty congratulated Agbaje on the victory.

“He’s a brother and grind and confidant.

“It’s all in the interest of our party and the people of Lagos state. We are resolute that in 2019, Agbaje will become governor,” he said.