​UEFA Europa League: Arsenal in same group as Cologne & Red Star Belgrade


Arsenal will face BATE Borisov, FC Koln and Red Star Belgrade in the group stage of the 2017-18 Europa League.

It is the first time in 20 years that the Gunners, who finished fifth in the Premier League last season, have started a season in Europe’s second-tier competition.

Everton, meanwhile, will take on Lyon, Atalanta and Apollon.

Everton, who completed their play-off victory over Croatian side

Hajduk Split on Thursday, are in Europe for the first time since 2014-15.

Italian giants Milan are among the other notable sides to be taking part in Europe’s second tier club competition and they have been paired with Austria Wien, Rijeka and AEK.

Group stage draw

Group A: Villarreal, Maccabi Tel Aviv, Astana, Slavia Prague.

Group B: Dynamo Kiev, Young Boys, Partizan Belgrade, Skenderbeu.

Group C: Sporting Braga, Ludogorets, Hoffenheim, Istanbul Basaksehir.

Group D: AC Milan, Austria Vienna , Rijeka, AEK Athens.

Group E: Lyon, Everton , Atalanta, Apollon Limassol.

Group F: FC Copenhagen, Lokomotiv Moscow, Sheriff Tiraspol, FC Zlin.

Group G: Vitoria Plzen, Steaua Bucarest, Hapoel Beer-Sheva, FC Lugano.

Group H: Arsenal, BATE Borisov, Cologne, Red Star Belgrade.

Group I: Salzburg, Marseille, Vitoria Guimaraes, Konyaspor.

Group J: Athletic Bilbao, Hertha Berlin, Zorya Luhansk, Ostersund.

Group K: Lazio, Nice, Zulte Waregem, Vitesse Arnhem.

Group L: Zenit St Petersburg, Real Sociedad, Rosenborg, Vardar.