​Nigerian actors matt at African Movie Academy Awards


Despite the fact that Nigerian movies top the nominations, no Nigerian actor won an individual category at the 2017 African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) which held on Saturday.

Also, none of the major categories was won by a Nigerian actor.
The consolation for Nigeria in the major categories was CEO, a Kunle Afolayan flick, which won best actress in a supporting role, a category earned by Beninese singer/actress, Angelique Kidjo.
Akin Omotoso, a Nigerian filmmaker, won best director for his South African movie Vaya.
It was a shock for celebrities and fans of Nollywood in attendance as Felicite, a Senegalese movie, won awards for best film, best actress in a leading role and best actor in a supporting role.
Félicité was the biggest winner of the night as the movie scooped a total of six awards.
Vaya won three awards while ’76, the best performing Nigerian film, won best production design, achievement in production and Lagos state award for best Nigerian film.
Oloibiri was awarded achievement in makeup while Three Wise Men took home the Tony Elumelu award for best comedy.
The 13th edition of AMAA held at EKO Hotel and Suites, Lagos, on Saturday.
Here are winners of the six major categories.
Best actress in a supporting role
Inna Moja – Wulu

Theresa Edem – Ayamma

Taiwo Ajai Lycet – Oloibiri

Nmonde Mbusi – Vaya

Somkele Idhalama – 93 Days

Angelique Kidjo (CEO: Nigeria) WINNER
Best actor in a supporting role
Adonijah Owiriwa – 76

Warren Matsimola – Vaya

Olu Jacobs – Oloibiri

Richard Seruwazi – While We Live

Majid Michel – Slow Country

Papi Mpaka (Felicitè: Senegal) WINNER
Best actress in a leading role
Lydia Forson – Keteke

Lupita Nyong’o – Queen of Katwe

Bimbo Akintola – 93 Days

Josette Bushell-Mingo – While We Live

Rita Dominic – 76

Khabonina Quebeka – Dora’s Peace

Zimkhitha Nyoka – Vaya

Vero Tshanda (Felicitè: Senegal) WINNER
Best actor in a leading role
Sambassa Nzeribe – Slow Country

Ibrahim Koma – Wulu

Richard Mofe Damijo – Oloibiri

Amine Ennaji- A Mile in My Shoes

David Oyelowo – Queen of Katwe

Dann Jaques Mouton- Call Me Thief

Ramsey Noah – 76

Jahwar Soudani (The Last of Us: Tunisia) WINNER
Best director
Daouda Coulibaly – Wulu

Steve Gukas – 93 Days

Mira Nair – Queen of Katwe

Izu Ojukwu – 76

Daryen Joshua- Call Me Thief

Alain Gomis – Félicité

Ala Eddine Slim- The Last Of Us

Said Khallaf – A Mile in My Shoes

Akin Omotosho (Vaya: South Africa) WINNER
Best film
The Last Of Us – Tunisia

A Mile in My Shoes – Morocco

76 – Nigeria

Vaya- South Africa

93 Days – Nigeria

Queen of Katwe – Uganda

Wulu – Mali

Call Me Thief – South Africa

Felicitè – (Senegal) WINNER

The Cable