Balloon d’Or 2017: full 30-man nominee shortlisted 


Football magazine France Football shortlisted The full 30-man nominees for the prestigious award. 

The full 30-man list includes seven Real Madrid players following their second successive Champions League win last season

The Ballon d’Or was initially distinct from FIFA’s World Player of the Year award, but the two was aligned in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or and has been won by either Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi for the past nine years.

However, that merger lasted just five years and the Ballon d’Or became separate from FIFA again in 2016, with the world governing body subsequently creating the new ‘The Best’ awards series.

Ronaldo picked up his fourth Ballon d’Or last year to move one behind Messi, and the Portugal and Real Madrid forward has been tip as favourite to make it five this time around.

Luis Suarez and Sergio Ramos have joined the likes of Neymar as nominees for the 2017 Ballon d’Or award, with the first 10 candidates released.

Liverpool midfielder Philippe Coutinho and Chelsea and France midfielder N’Golo Kate has also been nominated for the award.

The Ballon d’Or is judged solely by a panel of journalists after FIFA and France Football ended their partnership in 2015.

Ballon d’Or 2017 shortlist so far

Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid & Portugal

Eden Hazard Chelsea & Belgium

Leonardo Bonucci AC Milan & Italy

Isco Real Madrid & Spain

Kylian Mbappe PSG & France

Neymar PSG & Brazil

Luka Modric Real Madrid & Croatia

Paulo Dybala Juventus & Argentina

Marcelo Real Madrid & Brazil

N’Golo Kante Chelsea & France

Luis Suarez Barcelona & Uruguay

Sergio Ramos Real Madrid & Spain

Jan Oblak Atletico Madrid & Slovenia

Philippe Coutinho Liverpool & Brazil

Dries Mertens Napoli & Belgium

Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City & Belgium

Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich & Poland

David de Gea Manchester United & Spain

Harry Kane Tottenham & England

Edin Dzeko Roma & Bosnia-Herzegovina

Antoine Griezmann Atletico Madrid & France

Gianluigi Buffon Juventus & Italy

Radamel Falcao Monaco & Colombia

Sadio Mane Liverpool & Senegal

Toni Kroos Real Madrid & Germany

Lionel Messi Barcelona & Argentina

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Borussia Dortmund & Gabon

Edinson Cavani PSG & Uruguay

Mats Hummels Bayern Munich & Germany

Karim Benzema Real Madrid & France