​Ballon d’Or 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo wins award for FIFTH time


Cristiano Ronaldo has won the fifth Ballon d’Or of his career, equalling his arch-rival Lionel Messi’s record after a phenomenal season that saw him lead Real Madrid to the Champions League and the LaLiga title.

The 32-year-old, who is the all-time record goalscorer in the Champions League, was presented with the award, which recognises the best footballer in the world in a calendar year, in Paris on Thursday.
Gianluigi Buffon was placed fourth while the official confirmation regarding who among Neymar and Messi finished second is yet to come from France Football magazine.
Tottenham’s Harry Kane was the highest-ranked Englishman in 10th spot, while Chelsea’s N’Golo Kanté finished eighth.
Here’s the list
1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2 & 3. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) / Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
5. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
6. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
7. Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain)
8. N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
9. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
10. Harry Kane (Tottenham)